“The achievements of an organization are the results of the combined effort of each individual.”

“Individual commitment to a group effort – that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work.”

“The quality of a person’s life is in direct proportion to their commitment to excellence, regardless of their chosen field of endeavor.

“The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather in a lack of will.

--Vince Lombardi

Adam S. Duerfeldt, Ph.D.

Adam DuerfeldtAppointments

  • Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2020-present)
  • Assistant Professor, University of Oklahoma, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2014-2020)
  • Distinguished Faculty Fellow in Bioscience, Center for Applied Research & Development (2016-2019)


  • B.A. in Chemistry, Central College (Pella, IA), 2006
  • Ph.D. in Medicinal Chemistry, The University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS), 2011
  • American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Research Fellow, The Scripps Research Institute (La Jolla, CA), 2011–2014


  • 2020 ACS MEDI Young Investigator
  • 2017 University of Oklahoma Growth Fund Awardee
  • 2017 University of Oklahoma CBR Outstanding Professor of the Year
  • 2017 ACS Jack L. Beal Award
  • 2015 University of Oklahoma Inaugural Faculty Leadership Academy Fellow
  • 2015 American Cancer Society Special Friend: Researcher Award
  • 2013 Elsevier Top 10 Reviewer for Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters
  • 2011 The University of Kansas Irsay-Dahle Award
  • 2009 The University of Kansas Cancer Symposium Excellence in Research Award

Adam's Full CV

Our Team

Jessica J. Gardner

Graduate Student

B.S. in Chemistry, 2015, Rocky Mountain College
jessica [dot] hayes [at] ou [dot] edu

Quentin P. Avila

Graduate Student

M.S. in Engineering, 2016, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Clermont–Ferrrand (ENSCCF), France
M.S. in Chemistry, 2016, University of Oklahoma
quentin [dot] ibere [at] gmail [dot] com

Julia Lee

Graduate Student

B.S. in Chemistry, 2016, Tunghai University
julialee [at] ou [dot] edu

Katelyn G. Stevens

Graduate Student

B.S. in Chemistry, 2019, Augustana University
katelyn [dot] g [dot] stevens-1 [at] ou [dot] edu

Ziwei Hu

Staff Scientist

B.S. in Pharmacy, 2009, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry, 2014, Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health
ziwei [dot] hu [at] ou [dot] edu

Cat Bishop

Staff Scientist

B.S. in Biology, 2004, East Central University
M.S. in Environmental Studies/Toxicology, 2006, Louisiana State University
Ph.D. in Microbiology, 2013, University of Oklahoma
catbishop [at] ou [dot] edu

Former Group Members

Dinesh Nath, Ph.D. - Staff Scientist at OU Chemistry Core
Yangxiong Li, Ph.D. - Postdoctoral Research Fellow at OUHSC
Gopal Peddabuddi, Ph.D. - Research Scientist at Accele BioPharma

Graduate Students
April Aloway
Xiaozheng Dou, Ph.D. - Postdoctoral Research Associate at Notre Dame
Nathan P. Lavey, Ph.D. - Postdoctoral Research Fellow at National Cancer Institute - NIH
Quentin Gibaut, M.S. - Graduate Student at Scripps Florida
Hailee Rau, M.S. - Cytovance Biologics
Apryl Saunders, M.S. - Research Assistant II - Dean McGee Eye Institute

Jessica Knobbe - MD/PhD Program at the University of Iowa
Karla Bonic - Graduate Student at Oregon Health & Science University
Jesse Coker - Graduate Student at Oxford
Yanji (Cici) Zhou - Medical Student at Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Tristan Lilley
Delaney Finn
Josie Smith
Ryan Johnston (FYRE)
Sean Nguyen (FYRE)
Erich Thalacker (REU)
Joshua Lujan - Medical Student at University of Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine
Dat Truong - Medical Student at UT Southwestern